Armistice Day: Nation falls silent to remember war dead: Britain   8 comments

A view of Whitehall, looking south, in 1740. T...

Image via Wikipedia Whitehall 1740

Millions fell silent across Britain today to mark the anniversary of the day peace returned to Europe at the end of the First World War.

Millions across Britain fell silent today to mark the anniversary of the day peace returned to Europe at the end of the First World War.

Millions across Britain fell silent today to mark the anniversary of the day peace returned to Europe at the end of the First World War. Photo: PA
10:55AM GMT 11 Nov 2010

The agreement between Germany and the Allies took effect at the “eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month” of 1918 after four years of fighting.

As the nation stopped to remember those who died in battle, the Archbishop of Canterbury, defence ministers, representatives of military associations, veterans and school children attended a service at the Cenotaph in central London to commemorate Armistice Day.

Brother Nigel Cave, the Western Front Association’s padre, led the ceremony, and wreaths were laid at the monument in Whitehall

 

8 responses to “Armistice Day: Nation falls silent to remember war dead: Britain

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t even know how I got here, but I thought this post was pretty good. Cheers!

  2. Hi Webmaster, commenters and everybody else !!! The blog site was completely great! Lots of great information and creativity, both of which we all need!Keep ’em coming… you all do such a great job at such Concepts… can’t tell you how much I, for one appreciate all you do! My best regards, Kirby.

  3. Resources like the one you pointed out here will be very handy to me! I will post a link to this page on my blog site. I am sure my site visitors will find that very helpful. My best regards, Stacee.

  4. Preserve posting stuff like this i really like it. Thx. also added your RSS feeds.

  5. Pretty cool what you can stumble upon when surfing the interweb.

  6. Thank you for the insightful blog post, I will revisit this website again.

  7. Great blog , thanks for the post!

  8. I was aware of this previously, but nevertheless there was clearly several beneficial pieces that completed the image for me personally, thank you!

Leave a Reply

