More American than Apple Pie?   Leave a comment

American cultural icons, apple pie, baseball, ...Image via Wikipedia

Ever since I was little, my favorite fruity dessert has been my mom’s apple crisp. (Otherwise, I’m a strict chocolate lover.)  She makes apple crisp following a family recipe that she learned from my grandma, who got it from my great-grandma.  Slaves to family tradition, my sister and I eagerly copied it onto our own recipe cards when we moved out on our own.  And now, every year when apple season rolls around, I dig out the recipe, pick up some apples at the farmers’ market, and am delighted to remember how simple this recipe is.  To me, the crispy crumble layer on top is what makes it great, and bumps it a notch above regular apple pie in my book. And since it’s apple season now, I thought it was the perfect time to share this recipe with, well, everyone.  So here it is — Enjoy!


Apples!  Average sized apples usually will give you 1 cup of slices per apple.
Apples! Average sized apples usually will give you 1 cup of slices per apple.


The crumbly topping ingredients, before the mixing.
The crumbly topping ingredients, before the mixing.

Preparation

Place the apple slices in a greased 6×10 inch baking dish [Note that Inever seem to have a 6×10 inch dish, so I typically use an 8×8 inch square dish, and everything works out just fine]. We slice the apples fairly thin — at least in 16ths. In a separate bowl, prepare the crumble topping: mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and unbeaten egg using a fork. The amount of sugar will depend on your taste and the sweetness of the apples. Pour the crumble mixture over the apples in the baking dish. Drizzle the melted butter over the top of the mixture, then sprinkle the top with cinnamon.


Everything together with the cinnamon on top, before baking.
Everything together with the cinnamon on top, before baking.
Bake at 350 degrees for 30 to 40 minutes (until the top is golden brown and crispy). Serve warm, with whipped cream and/or ice cream. My mom likes to eat it in a bowl, with a little milk poured over it and whipped cream on top. I prefer ice cream.
I hope you like it!

The Finished Product!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Posted October 2, 2010 by dmacc502 in Baking

Leave a Reply

